Superior Poetry about my Superior Poetry


Asheville’s “Mountain Xpress” is kind enough to occasionally publish some of my “Superior Poetry” (their words, not mine). This week you will find I have experimented with a different form of poem – the ancient Chinese Haiku. The Haiku requires a 5-7-5 meter, which has the effect of making everything you write sound slightly wiser.
For example:

The Haiku format
Makes everything you write
Sound slightly wiser.

Did you feel that wisy-ness?

Here is the link to this week’s Mounain Xpress installment of
Superior Poetry

I’m not good with dates, so I didn’t realize this would come out right at Thanksgiving. Since there is an absence of holiday haikus, I will write one right now, that you can put in your pipe and smoke, if you’d like.

I am thankful for
my superior talent,
which is humbling.

Not bad right? “Superior” you say? Agreed. Here is another one, while we’re in the spirit of Thanksgiving:

I am thankful for
My family, friends, and abs
I have washboard abs.

That one’s funny because it’s true.

Admittedly, it’s tough to pack much into a Haiku, but I suppose that’s the point. The ancient Chinese poets were going, “Hey, what can I say, if I have limited space?” Let me try again:

Quote from Ancient Chinese Poet I just made up:
“Hey, what can I say,
if I have limited space?”
Let me try again.

Do you see what I
just did there? Apparently,
here as well. Booya.

So it’s not that hard
To just keep writing like this.
A bit annoying?

Once again, here is this week’s Mountain Xpress Superior Poetry installation: Same Link Again In Your Face. Be thankful for my poetry, it’s that time of year.

4 Responses to “Superior Poetry about my Superior Poetry”

  1. p.s. I just gave this blog five stars, and clicked the like button. I only do that for superior posts.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Joe Zimmerman, mxarts. mxarts said: RT @joezimmerman: truly devoted fans, I've written superior Haikus about my superior Haikus in this wk's Xpress http://bit.ly/hYt6Tm #avlent […]

  3. I think it’s sad that you’re the only one commenting on your superior poetry so here I am. Your haikus have another element that are a part of all superior haikus. You want the reader to turn his head like a confused dog at the “punchline.”

Leave a Reply

